ournews

Friday, July 06, 2018 8:17
The Higher League of the Russian Championship was won by GM Alexey Sarana (6.5/9), who bested GM Grigory Oparin on tiebreak. GMs Ernesto Inarkiev, Denis Khismatullin and Mikhail Kobalia (6/9...
Friday, July 06, 2018 3:21
The winning score in the July Titled Tuesday was 8.5/10. Two players made that mark. The first was GM Aram Hakobyan, a young Armenian player who has of late been a regular atop the Chess.com blitz leaderboard...
Wednesday, July 04, 2018 16:58
It's official: the FIDE presidential elections will be a three-horse race between Arkady Dvorkovich, Georgios Makropoulos and Nigel Short. "Makro" presented his ticket with...
Tuesday, July 03, 2018 18:31
This month's edition of In Other News spans the globe. We have several stories about American chess, including how you can help GM Fabiano Caruana visit the White House, and how GM...

ourarticles

Friday, July 13, 2018 9:19
The biggest event in online chess is back for 2018, and the field of 16 grandmasters is set for the 2018 Speed Chess Championship. While the best players in the world battle it out on the chessboards, you...
Thursday, July 12, 2018 5:32
Nowadays, it is normal for chess players of all levels to make a quick draw once in a while. The so-called "Sofia Rules" and other measures that attempt to prohibit draws by mutual agreement are...
Tuesday, July 10, 2018 3:39
Speed Chess Championship season is in full swing now as the open qualifier starts Tuesday, July 10 at 12 p.m. Pacific time (3 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. UTC). The winner...
Saturday, June 30, 2018 2:30
The coming world championship match is going to be Magnus Carlsen's biggest challenge since he won his crown. As I mentioned in my recent article, it is the first time he will...

dailycartoon