December 22, 2012 12:11

Tata Steel 2013 Grandmaster Group C participants announced

Tata 2013 Grandmaster Group C participants announced

Earlier this week the organizers of the 2013 Tata Steel Chess Tournament announced 13 of the 14 participants of Grandmaster Group C: GM Fernando Peralta, GM Sabino Brunello, GM Salem Saleh, GM Krikor Mekhitarian, GM Oleg Romanishin, IM Hjörvar Steinn Gretarsson, GM Robin Swinkels, IM Twan Burg, IM David Klein, IM Mark van der Werf, IM Igor Bitensky, WIM Lisa Schut and FM Miguoël Admiraal. The 14th player will be the winner of the 2012 Groningen Open which is currently under way.

Thirteen of the fourteen Grandmaster Group C participants are known, and nine are debutants. The invitation to the fourteenth player is reserved for the winner of the Groningen Open, which is taking place 19-30 December 2012. Like the Tata Steel Chess Tournament (75 years!), the annual chess festival in Groningen is celebrating: this year it's their 50th anniversary edition.

It's been a while, but this year the South American continent is well represented again with debutants Krikor Mekhitarian (Brazil) and Fernando Peralta (Argentina). Another notable newcomer is the young grandmaster Salem Saleh, from the United Arab Emirates, not a country with a rich chess tradition.
The remaining six debutants are Igor Betinsky (who promoted from the nine round event in 2012), the Italian Sabino Brunello, the young Icelander Hjörvar Steinn Gretarsson and Dutchmen Twan Burg, David Klein and Miguoël Admiraal. The latter finished as best Dutchman at the Cultural Village Tournament in November in Wijk aan Zee. Living in Velserbroek, Admiraal can be seen as a local player.
The organizers couldn't come to a (financial) agreement with Yaroslav Zherebukh, who "qualified" by winning the BDO tournament in Haarlem in August. Eduardas Rozentalis, the winner of the Cultural Village tournament, already had other plans for January. The runner-up in both events (Burg and Brunello respectively) took their place.

Tata Steel 2013 | Participants C group

# Name Fed Rating Born
1 GM Fernando Peralta ARG 2612 1979
2 GM Sabino Brunello ITA 2583 1989
3 GM Salem Saleh UAE 2536 1993
4 GM Krikor Mekhitarian BRA 2531 1986
5 GM Oleg Romanishin UKR 2530 1952
6 IM Hjörvar Steinn Gretarsson ISL 2516 1993
7 GM Robin Swinkels NED 2508 1989
8 IM Twan Burg NED 2498 1990
9 IM David Klein NED 2452 1993
10 IM Mark van der Werf NED 2448 1968
11 IM Igor Bitensky ISR 2400 1981
12 WIM Lisa Schut NED 2295 1994
13 FM Miguoël Admiraal NED 2293 1994
14 Winner Groningen Open      

On November 5th the Tata organizers already announced the participants of the B and C groups. We'll repeat the tables below, but do note that the ratings are November ratings. Shortly before the start of the event we'll create new tables with January ratings.

Tata Steel 2013 | Participants A group

# Name Fed Rating Ranking Born
1 Magnus Carlsen NOR 2848 1 1990
2 Levon Aronian ARM 2815 2 1982
3 Fabiano Caruana ITA 2786 5 1992
4 Viswanathan Anand IND 2775 6 1969
5 Sergey Karjakin RUS 2775 7 1990
6 Hikaru Nakamura USA 2755 12 1987
7 Wang Hao CHN 2737 19 1989
8 Peter Leko HUN 2732 22 1979
9 Anish Giri NED 2715 28 1994
10 Pentala Harikrishna IND 2692 59 1986
11 Loek van Wely NED 2691 61 1972
12 Ivan Sokolov NED 2677 77 1968
13 Erwin l'Ami NED 2629 134 1985
14 Hou Yifan CHN 2606 203 1994

Tata Steel 2013 | Participants B group

# Name Fed Rating Born
1 Arkadij Naiditsch GER 2708 1985
2 Sergey Movsesian ARM 2688 1978
3 Romain Edouard FRA 2688 1990
4 Ni Hua CHN 2681 1983
5 Sergey Tiviakov NED 2659 1973
6 Predrag Nikolic BIH 2650 1960
7 Maxim Turov RUS 2630 1979
8 Richard Rapport HUN 2621 1996
9 Jan Smeets NED 2615 1985
10 Daniil Dubov RUS 2600 1996
11 Nils Grandelius SWE 2593 1993
12 Alexander Ipatov TUR 2593 1993
13 Jan Timman NED 2579 1951
14 Robin van Kampen NED 2574 1994

The 75th Tata Steel Chess Tournament will be held 11-27 January 2013 at sports centre De Moriaan in Wijk aan Zee.

Peter Doggers's picture
Author: Peter Doggers


columbo's picture

the discussion the other day was about Carlsen vs new seeds born in 1990 and after ... Tata is a good occasion to see if he manages to win against the young new talents ... in the B group too bad Illya Nyzhnyk is not invited, but can't wait to see how Dubov deals with them all

columbo's picture

PS : Would love to see Andreikin play in group A next year !

AljechinsCat's picture

Im especially glad to see Ivan Sokolov playing there. Nimzo players, be alarmed! :)

Septimus's picture

Why is Nadisch in group B?

Anonymous's picture

Because he decided to win a tournament in 2013

Septimus's picture

Going by that logic, if you pass your second grade exams you should remain in second grade?

Anonymous's picture

come on Septimus, you can't take a joke ? There is of course something absurd here, but at the same time, consider that he is maybe playing the group B to see what youngsters like dubov and rapport can do in front of his winchester

Anonymous's picture

Because he decided to win a tournament in 2013

Columbo's picture

It will be a hell of a good test for rapport and dubov

John Cordisco's picture

I'm sad to see that Lahno isn't playing. I heard see recently had twins. Congrats. See brought a lot of class to the event.
John Cordisco

Anonymous's picture

I agree, Naiditsch should be in the A group, if any. Understandably this tournament is also about getting as much practice opportunities as possible for dutch players, so there aren't too many spots left except for the absolute elite. why does Hou Yifan has to play in the A group though? She wouldn't even be a favourite to win B. But ok, she used to be the womens world champion.

Anonymous's picture

Agree about Hou Yifan group B is much more apropriate for her.

AAR's picture

I will be missing Kramnik.

RG13's picture

Since Yaroslav Zherebukh is not exactly a household name, shouldn't he sacrifice a little to take advantage of this opportunity?

"The organizers couldn't come to a (financial) agreement with Yaroslav Zherebukh, who "qualified" by winning the BDO tournament in Haarlem in August."

S3's picture

I was also wondering about that. But moneywise this tournament isn't doing well and perhaps he had good reason to decline. Furthermore the C group isn't that strong. It is quite possible that there is no tournament next year: promotion may be out of the question as well.

Lee's picture

I too will be missing Kramnik. With Aronian looking a bit flat during the London Classic, I just can't see anyone challenging him for 1st place.

I'm also a little confused as to why Zherebukh couldn't/wouldn't come to terms. Opportunity wasted I think.

Lee's picture

Bah. by "him", I mean Carlsen. I can't see anyone challenging Carlsen for 1st.

redivivo's picture

Aronian won this last year and is uneven enough to play his best any time, and also Karjakin and Caruana are strong enough to finish ahead of Carlsen if the latter isn't having his best tournament.

S3's picture

Carlsen and Aronian may be unable to play on full strength with the candidates tournament coming up. Altho I doubt they need to reveal prep in order to beat the many "weak" players.

columbo's picture

one of the Tata flavor is ( was ? ) that a player taking 1st place in C group could go in B group and then by winning B group could get an invitation for Group A ... Since last year, it's almost impossible ... Although it's a good test for Dubov and Rapport to meet the german monster, i don't see how they could take first place in Group B ...

Considering group A, Kramnik has to prepare for the candidate matches ... I wouldn't be surprised if Carlsen drives slowly during this tournament ...

Latest articles