Announcement | November 05, 2012 12:20

75th Tata Steel tournament: players A & B group announced

Magnus Carlsen, Levon Aronian, Fabiano Caruana, Vishy Anand, Sergey Karjakin, Hikaru Nakamura, Wang Hao, Peter Leko, Anish Giri, Pentala Harikrishna, Loek van Wely, Ivan Sokolov, Erwin l’Ami and Hou Yifan are the names of the Tata Steel tournament's A group in January 2013. The 75th edition will be held 11-27 January, 2013 in Wijk aan Zee and today the participants of GM groups A and B have been announced in a press release.

The global crisis isn't over yet and so the organizers had to work with a smaller budget, but nonetheless the 75th Tata Steel Chess Tournament has a strong and interesting field. Besides World Champion and five times winner Vishy Anand, Magnus Carlsen confirmed his participation as well. The young Norwegian, currently the highest rated player in the world and three points shy of an all-time rating record, will play for the 10th time in Wijk aan Zee.

Five players out of the current top seven will be present in Wijk aan Zee in January 2013. Besides Anand and Carlsen there's three times winner Levon Aronian, fast-rising star Fabiano Caruana and former winners Hikaru Nakamura and Sergey Karjakin.

A remarkable name is 18-year-old Hou Yifan, the reiging Women's World Champion. She will be playing her first Grand Slam tournament ever. Another debutant is Pentala Harikrishna of India, who won the B group last year and thus promoted to the A group.

Traditionally a number of local heros have been included in the top group as well. Besides Anish Giri these are Loek van Wely, Ivan Sokolov and Erwin l’Ami.

Tata Steel 2013 | Participants A group

# Name Fed Rating Ranking Born
1 Magnus Carlsen NOR 2848 1 1990
2 Levon Aronian ARM 2815 2 1982
3 Fabiano Caruana ITA 2786 5 1992
4 Viswanathan Anand IND 2775 6 1969
5 Sergey Karjakin RUS 2775 7 1990
6 Hikaru Nakamura USA 2755 12 1987
7 Wang Hao CHN 2737 19 1989
8 Peter Leko HUN 2732 22 1979
9 Anish Giri NED 2715 28 1994
10 Pentala Harikrishna IND 2692 59 1986
11 Loek van Wely NED 2691 61 1972
12 Ivan Sokolov NED 2677 77 1968
13 Erwin l'Ami NED 2629 134 1985
14 Hou Yifan CHN 2606 203 1994

The B group is strong as well, and sees a mixture of young talents and experienced GMs. The top three players of the last World Junior Championship are present (Alexander Ipatov, Richard Rapport and Nils Grandelius), and also youngsters Daniil Dubov (who performed strongly at the Russian Championship) and Robin van Kampen (currently Holland's biggest talent). Former winners Jan Timman (1981 and 1985) and Predrag Nikolic (1989 and 1994) have accepted their invitation as well.

Tata Steel 2013 | Participants B group

# Name Fed Rating Born
1 Arkadij Naiditsch GER 2708 1985
2 Sergey Movsesian ARM 2688 1978
3 Romain Edouard FRA 2688 1990
4 Ni Hua CHN 2681 1983
5 Sergey Tiviakov NED 2659 1973
6 Predrag Nikolic BIH 2650 1960
7 Maxim Turov RUS 2630 1979
8 Richard Rapport HUN 2621 1996
9 Jan Smeets NED 2615 1985
10 Daniil Dubov RUS 2600 1996
11 Nils Grandelius SWE 2593 1993
12 Alexander Ipatov TUR 2593 1993
13 Jan Timman NED 2579 1951
14 Robin van Kampen NED 2574 1994

The field of the C group will be announced later. The 75th Tata Steel Chess Tournament will be held 11-27 January 2013 at sports centre De Moriaan in Wijk aan Zee.

Peter Doggers's picture
Author: Peter Doggers

Founder and editor-in-chief of, Peter is responsible for most of the chess news and tournament reports. Often visiting top events, he also provides photos and videos for the site. He's a 1.e4 player himself, likes Thai food and the Stones.


john's picture

nice way to dilute the lineup. where are Kramnik, Moro, Chucky?

Duncan's picture

No English sad.

Sam M's picture

Two guys who should be replaced in Group A to make this event interesting and competitive: Anand and Leko. Instead tey should get younger and hungrier talents like Radoslaw Wojtaszek, Dmitry Andreikin, etc.
Anand and Leko can go play a 2 round match where whoever loses first can take the prize..


Latest articles