Reports | October 08, 2008 4:28

ECF Book of the Year: From London to Elista

We congratulate our sponsor New in Chess for winning the English Chess Federation 2008 Book of the Year Award with their 2007 publication From London to Elista. A fine book indeed, as the readers of this site know!

From London to Elista by Evgeny Bareev and Ilya Levitov, published last year by New in Chess, has won the English Chess Federation's 2008 Book of the Year Award. The book describes Kramnik's three world championships matches: against Kasparov in 2000, against Leko in 2004 and against Topalov in 2006. For more information on the book we gladly refer to our review by Arne Moll.

They ECF judges write:

Well written and translated the quality of the book resides in the open and frank way Bareev answers the questions. Amongst the many subjects discussed (and we can only list a few here) are stress, opening preparation, team working, relations with Kramnik, the opponents, fatigue and exhaustion of players and seconds. But above all the narrative captures very well the psychological issues behind the drama of the matches. When will Kasparov's fight back take place? How to keep an ailing Kramnik going when behind in his match with Leko? And last but not least can Kramnik keep his composure after being defaulted a game against Topalov?

London to Elista gives a unique insight into world championship chess. Without doubt this is one of the most original and interesting books to have won the Book of the Year award.

The other books in this year's shortlist were 222 Opening Traps by Muller and Knaak (Edition Olms), Secret Notes by Bronstein and Voronkov (Edition Olms) and True Lies in Chess by Comas (Quality Chess).

Previous winners of the ECF Book of the Year: San Luis 2005 by Alik Gershon and Igor Nor (Quality Chess, 2007), Van Perlo's Endgame Tactics (New in Chess, 2006), My Great Predecessors Part 4 by Garry Kasparov (Everyman, 2005), Pal Benko My Life, Games and Compositions by GM Pal Benko and IM Jeremy Silman (Siles Press, 2004), My Great Predecessors Part 1 by Garry Kasparov (Everyman, 2003), Fundamental Chess Endings by Karsten Muller and Frank Lamprecht (Gambit, 2002), Victor Korchnoi's My Best Games Vol 1: Games with White by Viktor Kortchnoi (Edition Olms, 2001) and Queen's Gambit Declined by Matthew Sadler (Everyman, 2000).

Congratulations to New in Chess and to the authors Evgeny Bareev and Ilya Levitov of From London to Elista for winning this year's award!


Share |
Peter Doggers's picture
Author: Peter Doggers

Founder and editor-in-chief of, Peter is responsible for most of the chess news and tournament reports. Often visiting top events, he also provides photos and videos for the site. He's a 1.e4 player himself, likes Thai food and the Stones.


peter's picture


Rubinstein's picture

A Brilliant Book. Very interesting read.

Latest articles