Reports | April 18, 2009 0:29

Peralta, Naiditsch and Bachmann tie for first in Deizisau

Neckar winnersConcentrating on important tournaments during Easter, let’s move from the U.S. back to Europe, where from April 9 to 13 another strong tournament took place. The central location within Europe of Deizisau (Stuttgart area) attracted a lot of people from all over the world.

By IM Robert Ris

The international character of the tournament is probably best illustrated by the fact that 713 players from 29(!) different countries decided to play in Germany’s most popular Open. The tournament was divided into 3 rating categories, of which the A-group (1800 and higher) counted 358 players, including 19 GMs and 18 IMs, who had to fight out themselves who could take home the winners trophy and a respectable amount of 2250 euro (14.000 total prize fund). Enough proof to have a serious look at the games!

Top seed was Germany’s number one: 23-year-old Arkadij Naiditsch, who recently crossed the important 2700 barrier on the April rating list and currently occupies the 33rd spot in the world ranking. Being the absolute favourite gives you always some additional pressure. Already in the second round, the Latvian-born GM had to suffer from a horrible position against the 423 points lower-rated, Hartmut Metz. Naiditsch got luckily away with a draw when Metz showed too much respect, allowing Naiditsch to give a perpetual in a worse queen ending.

After five rounds, only Ukrainian GM Sergey Fedorchuk had still a 100% score, followed by a huge group 4¬?'ers. Among them, GM Fernando Peralta who took over the lead by beating Fedorchuk with Black in a direct man-to-man fight. This crucial victory must have given the Argentinean GM a big boost, since in the next round he managed to grind down GM Alexander Graf in a nice attacking game.

There was a "funny" time-trouble game between Sergei Fedorchuk and Fernando Peralta. At the end Peralta had only one second for four moves and Fedorchuk 5-6 seconds and guess who won.

The only two players who were still in sight of Peralta were Naiditsch and the young Dutch IM Wouter Spoelman, who faced each other. Playing Black, Spoelman showed no fear and went for a sharp Najdorf in which Naiditsch couldn’t impress that much. After missing several wins (time trouble?!), Spoelman had to rest his case and defended the theoretically drawn Rook+Bishop against Rook ending correctly. Anyway, a nice performance by the Dutchman, who went on to make his second GM norm with a huge score of 7/9!

Another GM norm was made by Robin Swinkels. His black win over Graf in the eighth round made an important contribution to this fantastic result. Like Spoelman, he is on his way to become Dutch newest GM. Both guys have passed the 2500 mark already and it seems to be just a matter of time before they make the final norm!

The eighth round didn’t bring many decisive results on the top boards, so a relatively safe draw in the last round against the young Cuban GM Fidel Corrales guaranteed Peralta a well-deserved tournament victory. Despite the fact that in the end Naiditsch (winning against IM Pedersen) and Bachmann (defeating Swinkels and so recovering from his unnecessary third-round loss) collected the same number of points, Peralta was declared as official winner, having a better Buchholz than his rivals. With a Latin-American tandem and Germany’s no.1 finishing on stage, the tournament organisation can enthusiastically conclude that the 13th edition was definitely a successful one!

[TABLE=696]

Finally, for more info I can really recommend you to have a look at the official tournament site, which was perfectly keeping up-to-date by IM Georgios Souleidis (who also took the picture above).

Tags:

Share |
Robert Ris's picture
Author: Robert Ris

Robert Ris is an International Master, professional trainer and teaches in schools, clubs and individually. He is one of the editors of ChessVibes Openings and ChessVibes Training and from time to time also writes book reviews. Other interests: travelling, sports and Greek food.

Chess.com

Comments

guitarspider's picture

Congrats to Peralta and Naiditsch.

This blitzing against Fedorchuck is a bit strange, I couldn't see Peralta use both hands. Can anyone point me to the point where he is supposed to do it?

guitarspider's picture

Now I see it. Interesting that this only lead to a warning.

Modem is a great suggestion for slow-motion :D.

Thomas's picture

Guitarspider, things went (obviously) really fast, but I think this refers to the move -ef4: recapturing the bishop [around 3:20 in the video].
@Peter Doggers: Is it technically possible to provide slow-motion versions of such videos? Just curious, just a suggestion .... .

Peter Doggers's picture

Well, not if they're not mine. This needs editing.

test's picture

I thought it was not allowed to make moves with both hands.
In blitz there is one exception: you can castle with both hands.
But this was not blitz.
Somebody corrects me if I'm wrong.

Arne Moll's picture

Hey Thomas, just watch the video on a 56000 bps modem or something - you'll have a perfect slow motion! :-)

Thomas's picture

@Peter: I know .... it was a general question, in this particular case it should be asked to Georgios Souleidis.
@Arne: Indeed I thought about how to slow down my Internet connection, but wouldn't bother to find an old-fashioned model (from a museum? :) ). Moreover, I wouldn't be patient enough to watch the entire 5:45 minutes in slow motion, only a few critical seconds around the incident.
And while this may "slow down" posting my follow-up comment, two links on similar incidents in a blitz tournament are
http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail.asp?newsid=5310
http://www.schaakclubutrecht.nl/recenthbi2009.html

GeorgiosSouleidis's picture

"Is it technically possible to provide slow-motion versions of such videos? Just curious, just a suggestion …. ."
This shouldn´t be a problem. I will keep it in mind for the future.
The time in the video where Peralta is using both hands is 3:22. There he recaptured the bishop on f4. You just can click on "pause" to see it better. But this is the only move where Peralta used both hands. After the game Fedorchuk complained about it, but the referee said that this circumstance can only lead to a warning, so Fedorchuk lost on time.

test's picture

Edit: if it only leads to a warning without time penalty, the rule is useless, is it not? (As this game illustrated.)

Thomas's picture

More generally: Is it just my impression, or has extreme time trouble in GM games become much more common recently? I guess many people still remember Radjabov-Smeets at Corus A, when the arbiter's decision was also, well, controversially discussed.
At Corus and Linares, there were several other time scrambles (but no need for arbiters to intervene). I also remember Iturrizaga in Corus C down to 20 seconds for the last 21 moves, amazingly making the time control with one second left - I was watching on-site, Peter Doggers with his video camera standing close to me in the crowd of spectators .... .
So another explanation could be that such games are now more widely publicized and covered on video. Georgios Souleidis seems to be relatively new in this (sub-)field - or I missed his earlier work, though I heard and read his name as a chess journalist.

rdecredico's picture

Useless rule that only creates arguments and point for bureaucrats to ponder. Like so many byzantine rules it can be done away with completely and have no effect whatsoever on actual game of chess play.

Castro's picture

I completely disagree.
Not a "bizantine rule", neither aimed at bureaucrat's pondering. And not at all an useless rule.
Of course it has effect on actual games!
If the oponent complains (here the very needed "bureaucracy", when the arbiter is not there and atentive), the arbiter AT LEAST will give a warning. If the fault is repeatead, the penalty will be on the clock (and it can go to losing the game, if the player insists on doing that).
Even on the first fault, the arbiter could rule a penalty on time (depending on the conditions (moment, intentionality, consequences,...))!!
What that arbiter said is that --- to begin with --- he saw no reason to give more than a warning to that precise fault. And, of course, that the claim should be done on the act (to have more chances of being oposed).
Now, if you think about complete chaos with total 4-arms freedom (like some decades ago), maybe you begin pondering that this is far from being the worse of all these years FIDE rule's novelties...

Latest articles