Reports | September 05, 2011 1:58

World Cup R3.2: Polgar eliminates Karjakin, Morozevich throws in towel

Judit Polgar eliminated top seed Sergei Karjakin from the World Cup in Khanty-Mansiysk. The Hungarian drew here second game with the black pieces comfortably to reach a score of 1.5-0.5. Alexander Morozevich and David Navara both surprised the chess world; the former needed to win his white game against Alexander Grischuk and duly offered a draw after twelve moves while the latter offered a draw against Alexander Moiseenko, a few moves before a forced mate.

General info

The 2011 FIDE World Cup is a 128-player knock-out taking place August 27-September 20 in Khanty-Mansiysk, Siberia. The tournament delivers three participants for the next Candidates tournament/matches, as part of the new World Championship cycle. Except for the final, all rounds have 2-game matches at the FIDE time control: 90 minutes for 40 moves followed by 30 minutes to finish the game, with a 30-second increment from the first move. In case of a 1-1 tie, on the third day of the round there's a tie-break with rapid games and if necessary blitz games and an Armageddon. More info here. Tournament bracket

Round 3.2

The second day of the World Cup's third round was a crazy one, really crazy. It started already about an hour into the round, when at the board of Alexander Morozevich and Alexander Grischuk the pieces were already put back into their starting position. While commentators GM Konstantin Landa and WGM Anna Sharevich had just started commenting upon this game, it took them a while to realize what had happened. At that point several players were looking at this board; Baadur Jobava, who was sitting next to it, looked surprised, Bacrot turned around to look what happened, Radjabov walked to the board, Dominguez came by and checked one of the score sheets... As it turned out, Morozevich had offered a draw after twelve moves! Morozevich At the press conference Grischuk said:

As much as you or anyone else I'm surprised, much more than any of you. No idea what happened. First I thought I misheard it, I thought I was still sleeping or dreaming, I still cannot understand what happened and why.

Landa asked Grischuk if he had asked his opponent about it.

I don't think it's very correct to ask immediately,

Grischuk replied and then decided to show his white game of the day before, which he described as "one of the most interesting games I played in recent years." Grischuk The biggest story, however, was the game Moiseenko vs Navara. At move 55, the Czech GM had reached a winning ending with Black: queen vs rook and e-pawn (on e3). At move 73 Navara won the e-pawn, so queen vs rook remained. According to the tablebase, from the starting position it was a mate in 25 but Navara at first didn't make much progress: at move 106 it was still 21 moves to mate with perfect defence. After that things went much better and on move 114 the following position was reached: Moiseenko-Navara Khanty-Mansiysk, 2011 Diagram Here the game finished, and to everyone's surprise the result turned out to be a draw. Thanks to WhyChess we know that GM Sergey Shipov, who is in Khanty, posted on the Crestbook forum (the emphasis is Shipov's):

I talked to Moiseenko after his game against Navara – they DREW! What happened was as follows: in the first time trouble Navara accidentally touched one of his pieces and if he moved it he’d lose a piece. Moiseenko pardoned him that touch in a short dialogue. It seems a sense of guilt weighed on David and then, having achieved a won position, he considered it wasn’t possible for him to win and offered a draw. All in all, they’re going to play tiebreaks tomorrow. David Navara and Alexander Moiseenko are the noblest representatives of the chess world. Let’s remember their names…

However, this is not the whole story. You can still watch the incident in the video from the organizers, where at 16:01:55 (right after the press conference with Judit Polgar) we see an overview shot, and at 16:01:58 David Navara makes a move. Navara making the move The interesting thing is that it's hardly visible that Navara touches a piece that he doesn't play; instead he makes a move without hesitation. Therefore, if he did touch a different piece while executing this move, it couldn't have been deliberate. And this is the key word, as we can read in the FIDE regulations:

Article 4.3 "(...) if the player having the move deliberately touches on the chessboard (...) one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched which can be moved.”

In the video it is clear that Moiseenko didn't just 'pardon' Navara; he first points out to his opponent that he touched a different piece (an act by Moiseenko that is questionable, taking into account the rules) and then apparently says 'let's play on'. The first thing Navara does (so not his opponent!) is call for the arbiter, who tells them to continue. Apparently Navara couldn't stop thinking about the whole incident and felt it was morally wrong much to win a game in which he had done something wrong (which wasn't the case). Navara, who possesses a strong sense for justice combined with the highest form of modesty, proved once again that he is a remarkable and wonderful person, but someone needs to explain to him that in Khanty it's about winning. :-) Judit Polgar comfortably drew her black game with Sergey Karjakin using the Open variation of the Ruy Lopez. This way the Hungarian qualified for the next round, and eliminated the top seeded player, with remarkable ease. At the press conference she said:

Of course I'm incredibly happy and I think I also played pretty well and I took my chances. I put a lot of pressure on Sergey. I have to calm down tomorrow to be ready for the next round!

Judit's trick? Her husband is staying at home taking care of the kids (the oldest just started school) and this way "I can stay calm knowing that everything is going well at home". As the famous saying goes, behind every great woman... ;-) Judit Polgar Vassily Ivanchuk is still in the competition. He levelled the score against Emil Sutovsky, who used a remarkable strategy with White: play as aggressively as possible! Sutovsky-Ivanchuk Khanty-Mansiysk, 2011 [Notes by Arne Moll] 1. e4 g6 2. d4 Bg7 3. Nc3 d6 4. f4 Nf6 5. Nf3 O-O 6. e5 Nfd7 7. h4 The sharpest possible way to answer the Pirc. 7... c5 8. h5 cxd4 9. hxg6 dxc3 10. gxf7+ Rxf7 11. Bc4 e6 12. Ng5 cxb2 13. Bxb2 Qa5+ 14. Ke2 14...Nf8 A new move, but hardly an improvement. Theory recommends 14... d5 and Black should be OK. 15. Nxf7 Kxf7 16. f5!? Diagram A bold attempt, but probably not an entirely correct one. The materialistic 16. Qxd6 Nc6 17. Raf1 looks more promising, although Black seems to survive after 17... Kg8 18. Rf3 Bd7 19. f5 Qa4. 16... Bxe5! Simple and strong. Now White's attack looks kind of artificial; for the rest see the game viewer below. Bu Xiangzhi and Abhijeet Gupta seemed to be steering to a second draw, and thus a tie-break, until the following happened. Bu Xiangzhi-Abhijeet Gupta Khanty-Mansiysk, 2011 [Notes by Arne Moll] Diagram60...Kh5?? Horrible. Both Kh6 and Kf4 still led to a draw. 61. f4 Opening up the deadly diagonal d1-h5 for the bishop. Black resigned.

Games round 3.2


Game viewer by ChessTempo

FIDE World Cup 2011 | Round 3 results
Name G1 G2 R1 R2 r3 r4 B1 B2 SD Tot
Round 3 Match 01
Polgar, Judit (HUN) 1 ½               1.5
Karjakin, Sergey (RUS) 0 ½               0.5
Round 3 Match 02
Ivanchuk, Vassily (UKR) 0 1               1
Sutovsky, Emil (ISR) 1 0               1
Round 3 Match 03
Zherebukh, Yaroslav (UKR) ½ ½               1
Mamedyarov, Shakhriyar (AZE) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 04
Ponomariov, Ruslan (UKR) ½ ½               1
Efimenko, Zahar (UKR) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 05
Tomashevsky, Evgeny (RUS) ½ 0               0.5
Gashimov, Vugar (AZE) ½ 1               1.5
Round 3 Match 06
Grischuk, Alexander (RUS) 1 ½               1.5
Morozevich, Alexander (RUS) 0 ½               0.5
Round 3 Match 07
Bacrot, Etienne (FRA) ½ 0               0.5
Radjabov, Teimour (AZE) ½ 1               1.5
Round 3 Match 08
Kamsky, Gata (USA) 1 0               1
Nepomniachtchi, Ian (RUS) 0 1               1
Round 3 Match 09
Caruana, Fabiano (ITA) ½ ½               1
Svidler, Peter (RUS) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 10
Jakovenko, Dmitry (RUS) 1 1               2
Jobava, Baadur (GEO) 0 0               0
Round 3 Match 11
Potkin, Vladimir (RUS) ½ ½               1
Vitiugov, Nikita (RUS) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 12
Parligras, Mircea-Emilian (ROU) ½ ½               1
Nielsen, Peter Heine (DEN) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 13
Le, Quang Liem (VIE) ½ ½               1
Bruzon Batista, Lazaro (CUB) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 14
Navara, David (CZE) ½ ½               1
Moiseenko, Alexander (UKR) ½ ½               1
Round 3 Match 15
Gupta, Abhijeet (IND) ½ 0               0.5
Bu, Xiangzhi (CHN) ½ 1               1.5
Round 3 Match 16
Dominguez Perez, Leinier (CUB) 1 0               1
Lysyj, Igor (RUS) 0 1               1

Photos © FIDE | Official website


Peter Doggers's picture
Author: Peter Doggers

Founder and editor-in-chief of, Peter is responsible for most of the chess news and tournament reports. Often visiting top events, he also provides photos and videos for the site. He's a 1.e4 player himself, likes Thai food and the Stones.


Septimus's picture

Lack of mental toughness perhaps?

S3's picture

Maybe he read and did not agree with your comment Septimus: "I hope Moro crushes Grischchuk. This guy has made a mockery of the tournament by quickly drawing classical games and trying his luck in the rapid version. Is this a classical tournament or a rapid tournament? Total BS."

Septimus's picture

Can somebody confirm this please? Chessbomb shows 1/2-1/2, which I thought was ridiculous. Even a noob can win a R v Q endgame.

mishanp's picture

The problem isn't winning the endgame (well, that would be too for me...), but winning it in 50 moves. In the Russian commentary Shipov mentioned that Morozevich and Svidler had both failed to do it in the past - and it looked very likely Navara would also fail at one point. In the end he needed some help from his opponent.

S3's picture

In all likelyhood the crucial moment should be on tape, and arbiters have seen it for sure. Maybe images will be provided?

Eiae's picture

Not needed among gentlemen.

adam's picture

your name won't be remembered. obviously

Szoker's picture

I dont give a **** if you'll remember my name or not ;)

What Im saying is - throwing the win without any reason is S T U P I D

in any type of sport.

Zeblakob's picture

Today games show that Morozevich and Navara suffer from mental problems.

BlunderSuck's picture

21 peoples suffer from mental problems and probably more will suffer soon...

BlunderSuck's picture

peoples with mental problems rose to 32...the prophecy is realized...

Smith's picture

Can someone tell me why Navara's game ended with a draw, when it's mate in five? Did he (and/or the arbiter) mix up how many moves they had played - it was only 40.

Maybe he actually won?

Amos's picture

Yes, he won the game. The result is wrong, in the live video it was clear that Moiseenko resigned.

Amos's picture

Just read on the Crestbook forum what actually happened (see comments below). Amazing, just amazing!'s picture
gg's picture

This just sounds stupid to me, it was an accidental touch and nothing to "forgive":

"noble move was made by Moiseenko, who forgave an accidental touch of a piece made by his opponent"

S3's picture

I don't know which part you find stupid but I think Navara is both a great player and a great person. Hope he wins tomorrow.

gg's picture

What I find stupid is that sites and posters praise Moiseenko for being so graceful to "pardon" and "forgive" Navara, that he deserves his fair play prize etc. The incident was as follows: Navara makes a normal move, no one that saw it on the transmission said that Navara had touched any other piece. If his hand indeed nudged the king somehow when reaching for the bishop it was impossible to see and anyhow totally obvious that it wasn't anywhere near an intended move. Moiseenko's "touched piece!" protest just looked embarrassing.

Moiseenko upset Navara, and the latter no longer wanted to win the game because he didn't want to upset his opponent and be seen as a cheater. So, again, what I find stupid is that people for some reason twist this story into Moiseenko being some kind of hero that "pardoned" Navara from some kind of rule violation when this clearly wasn't the case at all. Moiseenko has been involved in controversies befoer, this isn't the only example that can be found on his page:

"Moiseenko played the move 31. Rc3, but after making the move, restarted his own clock and attempted to play instead 31. Rc5. The retraction was seen by Maghami and a couple of other players who were observing the game."

christos (greece)'s picture

I think Navara should be more competitive.

He should have offered a draw much earlier, if he wanted a draw. What was he thinking, playing on in this game? If he had made a mistake and ended up in a lost position, he would have lost the game. If his opponent made a mistake, then he would make a draw? The problem with this strategy is that he is offering a freeroll to his opponent.

Navara obviously disagrees with this argument, and of course it is his choice what to do. But if he loses the match, he'd better not analyse countless variations with his computer trying to find where he went wrong. We would all know why he got eliminated in that case, and I for one cannot feel sorry for him if he loses.

On the other hand, I read something about a fair play prize, but I hope Moiseenko didn't get a prize for this because I don't think he showed any fair play at all.

S3's picture

What an amazing game by King Chuky!!!!!! player of all time (bar King Kasparov)

Chess Fan's picture

What is wrong with you? It is one thing to idolize your favorite player but to be so emotional to exaggerate so much?

fen's picture

Can anyone explain why Moro quit so soon? From this inexperienced person's point of view it looks like there is a lot of game left.

Excalibur's picture

Because Moro is an eccentric individual and this are the type of things he does. Chucky would probably have done the same in a similar situation.

Frederic's picture

Ivanchuk was in the same situation and he didn't....

Knallo's picture

Yes, they are Messrs. Unpredictable indeed.

Pedro Pinto's picture

you know... the thing is that Chucky was in a similar situation.
now go and watch his game (one of the most spectacular i've ever seen)

Knallo's picture

Wow. Yes. What a game! It'll take me a week to figure it out.

Szoker's picture

What the hell ?

Why would Morozevich even do such thing.

After his incredibly strong comeback to the 2700 clan (with +43 FIDE points last month)

Such a weird decision.

And also - Wow for Polgar. Just Wow ;)

Gogu Pintenogu's picture

What happent in Navarra-Moiseenko game ??? White is finally winning in a couple of moves and the game was drawn ???
there were ten moves to be made until a 50 move draw will arise. Please,someone has any idea ?

Thomas's picture
Szoker's picture

What is so noble in letting your opponent draw when you achieved a hard fought win ?

Moiseenko's act can be called noble but Navara's decision was just plain stupid.


sam's picture

i think Moiseenko did a favor and then navara return it back.. as simple as that.. and now both can go home without feeling any regret or guilt.. :)

help's picture

Some commenter on whychess said Navara didn't touch the wrong piece but just grazed it by accident. I wasn't there so will not comment on it further.

Eiae's picture

Navara told Lanka that he touched his King and Bishop at the same time. Moiseenko obviously knew Navara wasn't planning to move his King, so they played on.
Navara did the moral thing and returned the favor like a true gentleman.

harry's picture

No no not 10 moves more - at least soon. The rule with 50 moves isnt valid any more. It's not official yet, but I can say already that fide will applying a 40 move rule from Jan 2012 on to adjust the rule to the shortend time limits. The players probably knew it also from a friend of mine in Khanty.

Gogu Pintenogu's picture

quite strange...

Gogu Pintenogu's picture

ok, here it is on official site now :

help's picture

Quote: "I wanted to move my bishop on d6, but clipped the king also, however, Moiseenko insists that I have first touched the king, but I am not sure about that."

Sorry but Moiseenko is being the ******* here. What does this have to do with fair play? It's just the opposite.

gg's picture

Everyone agrees that Navara accidentally touched another piece when stretching out his hand to move another piece so it's no touch move thing, it's incredible that Navara can see it as if he did something wrong.

fen's picture

David just seems like the sort of person who would never leave anything left to question. Good sportsmanship on both sides. Nice to see.

S3's picture

It's not incredible it's just that Navara is a very nice guy. I think he did nothing wrong either but I think his gesture is commendable if he thinks there is a shade of doubt.

Gogu Pintenogu's picture

i'm not sure how much sportmanship was from Moiseenko considering that Navarra touched the piece with no intention,he spoke during the game about that " piece touche " ,i think it was a trick so that Navarra will lose his nerves,i don't think he tought he is right about the opponent decision to move the king,and ,also, I do not think Navarra will ever have told him that he touch his king in a reversed situation,not in a million years. Really,i think the honourable thing for Moiseenko to do is to fortfeit the match tomorrow,that's sportmanship after what he did today.

gg's picture

I agree.

gg's picture

I agree.

nirvana's picture

+1. It is well known among GMs that Navara is always apologising for things he doesnt need to apologise for. Clearly Moiseenko knows this and everyone can draw their own conclusions for what transpired.

RuralRob's picture

Navara offering draw... Morozevich offering draw...

If the World Cup was taking place inside the Matrix, then today it could be said there was a glitch.

Tata's picture

Watch the video on time 16:02 and recognize board Navara-Moiseienko. Set the HD quality and full screen.There is clearly visible that Navara moved his bishop normally to d6. If there was a king touch, it was clear accident and NOT intention. Fair play prize to Moiseienko? It is a joke !! Unbelievable....

Brecht's picture

sad to see Morozovicth go out so soon....but Grischuk is also a beast! just like Moro....i wonder ,did Moro opted for a draw in order to see the 4 X 100 meters with Usian Bolt?

Septimus's picture

I hope Navara wins tomorrow! If I were the opponent, I would have refused the draw offer and taken the loss instead. If he really wanted to display sportsmanship, he should have taken the loss. Sportsmanship is making a gesture without expecting anything in return! I somehow feel David was taken advantage of here. Hope he crushes Moiseenko tomorrow.

As for Moro, what the hell was he thinking?? First of all, short draws are disgraceful and an insult to the game. Next, why the hell would you offer a draw when you are down 1-0?? Absurd and inexplicable. He really needs to get his head together if he wants to compete anywhere at the elite level.

Players making short draws should be fined or banned.

Greco's picture

And thats why Moro never was and never will be a true contender....sorry guys you can thumb down all you wont change the truth.


Latest articles