Archive for European Championship

Looking for more articles? Check out's articles here!

Thursday, May 16, 2013 22:48
Despite a loss in the final round to Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Moiseenko won the European Championship in Legnica, Poland. The Ukrainian grandmaster was leading for most of the tournament and eventually scored 8/11, edging out nine other grandmasters on tiebreak. Among them was 59-year-old chess legend Alexander Beliavsky, who thus qualified...
Thursday, May 09, 2013 11:15
Alexander Moiseenko is the only player left with a perfect score at the European Individual Championship in Legnica, Poland. The Ukrainian grandmaster won his first four games and is half a point ahead of a group of twelve players who are on 3.5/4. After 11 rounds, the 23 best players will qualify for the World Cup in Tromsø, Norway this summer....
The playing hall in Warsaw
Sunday, December 16, 2012 21:33
Maxime Vachier-Lagrave won the European Blitz Championship on Friday in Warsaw, Poland. The French grandmaster scored a splendid 18.5/22 to clinch his second European Blitz title. Gabriel Sargissian finished second with 17.5 points followed by Vladislav Tkachiev with 17. Alexey Dreev emerged as the winner on tie-break at the European Rapid...
Russia-1 wins European Seniors Team Championship
Thursday, April 05, 2012 14:19
The first team from Russia won the European Seniors Team Championship in Rogaska Slatina, Slovenia. Their team consisted of GM Evgeni Vasiukov (2455), GM Oleg Chernikov (2415), IM Nikolai Mishuchkov (2431), IM Anatoli Shvedchikov (2405) and GM Nikolai Pushkov (2390) and team captain Alexander Filipenko. The best score on the first board was...
Jakovenko claims European title in dramatic finish
Sunday, April 01, 2012 0:48
28-year-old Russian Dmitry Jakovenko has won the European Championship after winning on demand in the final round to take clear first with 8.5/11. His French opponent, Laurent Fressinet, still had the consolation of a silver medal as the other top players drew, leaving no less than 13 tied on 8/11. Vladimir Malakhov took bronze by a whisker ahead...
Mamedyarov defaults again, leaves European Championship
Friday, March 30, 2012 10:05
In round 9 of the European Championship in Plovdiv Shakhriyar Mamedyarov again lost by default, and then decided to leave the tournament. He agreed to a draw with his opponent Alvar Alonso Rosell before move 40 without asking the arbiter, whereupon the game was declared lost for both players. Mamedyarov then informed the organizers in written form...
Vladimir Malakhov beats sole leader Sergei Azarov in round 8
Thursday, March 29, 2012 9:12
Vladimir Akopian, Vladimir Malakhov and Maxim Matlakov are leading the European Championship in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The three grandmasters scored 6.5/8 and are half a point ahead of 16 grandmasters. In the 8th round, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov arrived at his board too late and was forfeited. Vladimir Malakhov beats sole leader Sergei Azarov in round 8...
European Championship: 10 players in the lead, 7 defaulted
Monday, March 26, 2012 10:01
Going into the first (and only) rest day, a group of 10 grandmasters is sharing first place at the European Championship in Plovdiv: Sergei Azarov, Laurent Fressinet, Ernesto Inarkiev, Gawain Jones, Denis Khismatullin, Anton Korobov, Yuriy Kuzubov, Maxim Matlakov, Arkadij Naiditsch and Maxime Vachier-Lagrave. 7 players lost by default in round 6...
Gawain Jones leads European Championship after four rounds
Friday, March 23, 2012 22:01
Gawain Jones is the only player with a 100% score after four rounds at the European Championship in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The English grandmaster, who runs a blog that can be read here at ChessVibes, is half a point ahead of a group of twenty grandmasters. Gawain Jones leads in Plovdiv | Photo © John Saunders; all other photos by Svoboda Chankova, ...
European Championship starts with many upsets
Wednesday, March 21, 2012 10:38
The European Championship started on Tuesday in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. There was quite a number of upsets in the first round: IM Filiop Pancevski beat GM Andrei Volokitin, FM David Klein won against GM Ivan Saric and IM Evgenija Ovod defeated GM Eltaj Safarli, to name a few. Besides, the new ECU dress code is in effect at the tournament. A scene from...